What Is OpenCode? Is It Free, V1 or V2, Setup, Claude Subscription, Go Pricing, Permissions, Security and Data
You install OpenCode, connect a provider's model and give it coding tasks in the terminal (or through the desktop app, web interface and IDE extension). It is an MIT-licensed open-source agent; it has no model of its own, and the software is free. Two release lines are alive: V1 and V2 use the same opencode command and can't be installed side by side. Its own optional plans are Zen (pay as you go), Go and Go Plus. The github.com/opencode-ai/opencode that shows up in searches is an old, archived project.
- What it does
- Terminal coding agent you connect to any model you choose
- Free
- Software is free (MIT); model costs are separate
- Turkish
- Interface in English; replies depend on the model
- Where
- Terminal, desktop, web, IDE
- Permissions
- Permissive by default (V1)
- Price
- Go $10/month · Go Plus $40/month · Zen pay as you go
What is OpenCode for? Can I connect my Claude subscription?
You start OpenCode in your project folder and type what you want; it reads the code, edits files, runs commands and shows the changes as a diff. It has no model of its own: you need an API key, a provider sign-in, OpenCode's Zen/Go plan or a local model (such as Ollama). The /init command analyzes the project and generates AGENTS.md.
There is a desktop app for people who don't know the terminal (macOS, Windows, Linux; the GitHub page calls it beta). Whichever route you choose, you need to connect a model provider. OpenCode is a coding tool, not a ready-made “build an app” wizard; you're expected to read and approve the changes the agent makes to files.
Two official sources contradict each other. The home page FAQ says you can; the providers documentation says “Anthropic explicitly prohibits this” and states that Claude Pro/Max sign-in hasn't been included since 1.3.0. The safe route: use an Anthropic API key.
Who it's for: developers who like working in the terminal; people who want to choose their own model, use a local model or switch between providers.
!github.com/opencode-ai/opencode (written in Go, old) was archived and moved to Charm's Crush project. This page is about github.com/anomalyco/opencode (formerly sst/opencode); the two projects get mixed up in searches.
How do you install OpenCode? V1 or V2?
!V1 and V2 use the same opencode command and can't be installed side by side with the default command. The home page and download page feature V2, while the /docs documentation still describes V1. On npm, the V1 package is opencode-ai (1.19.0) and the V2 package is @opencode/cli (2.0.29). Release notes for V2 aren't published and there is no V2 tag in GitHub Releases.
- Install:
curl -fsSL https://opencode.ai/v2/install | bash - Alternative:
npm install -g @opencode/cli - Check the version:
opencode --version - Type opencode in your project folder; connect a provider with /connect, pick a model with /models, generate AGENTS.md with /init.
- Install:
curl -fsSL https://opencode.ai/install | bash - Alternative:
npm install -g opencode-ai - To switch to V2:
opencode upgrade --major
The V1 documentation recommends installing inside WSL (Windows Subsystem for Linux) for the best experience; for better file performance, copy the repository into the WSL file system. V2 has a native Windows binary. The desktop app requires the Microsoft Edge WebView2 Runtime.
opencode.ai/download offers macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel), Windows (x64, ARM64) and Linux (.deb, .rpm, AppImage) builds. In VS Code, Cursor, Windsurf, VSCodium and Zed, running opencode in the editor's terminal installs the extension automatically (the editor's command-line tool must be on PATH). A JetBrains plugin is not in the documentation. Minimum RAM, CPU and disk are not stated.
V2 reads V1 configuration, but V1 plugins don't work. Recommended terminals: WezTerm, Alacritty, Ghostty, Kitty.
Can OpenCode delete my files? Permissions and undo
Most actions, including file edits and shell commands, run without approval by default (allow). Access outside the project and repeating the same call three times require approval; reading .env files is denied.
All actions run without approval; directories outside the project and reading .env require approval.
You write permission rules in opencode.json; the --auto flag approves every request automatically (don't use it). Press Tab to switch to the plan agent: it works read-only and doesn't edit files.
/undo and /redo revert and reapply the agent's last change. Working in a Git repository is recommended for diffs and rollbacks.
OpenCode's security vulnerability history
| Advisory | What | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| GHSA-vxw4-wv6m-9hhh (high, January 12, 2026) | A passwordless local HTTP server let a local process or a website run shell commands | opencode-ai 1.0.216 and later |
| GHSA-c83v-7274-4vgp (critical, January 12, 2026) | In the web interface, a malicious site could run commands via XSS | 1.1.10 and later |
| GHSA-632h-h47v-g4x4 (high, September 24, 2026) | For users running opencode serve, a cross-site request could make it install arbitrary packages | 1.18.22 and later |
All three have been fixed. If you expose the server (--hostname 0.0.0.0), set a password with OPENCODE_SERVER_PASSWORD and use the latest version.
Is OpenCode free? Zen, Go and Go Plus pricing
The software is free (MIT). The cost depends on the model provider you connect. The site also has time-limited free models usable without an account; data may be retained on these models (see below).
- Terminal, desktop, web, IDE
- Time-limited free models
- Model costs not included
- Dollar-based allowance for open models and some smaller commercial models
- Windows of 20% per 5 hours, 50% per week, 100% per month
- Single-member workspace
- Team use
- Same model list as Go
- About 2 to 8 times Go's allowance
- Top up credit, pay per request
- OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and open models
- Card processing fee is added to the cost (4.4% + $0.30)
Prices are in dollars; the official pages give no Turkish lira price or VAT (KDV) information, and don't say whether payments from Turkey are accepted. The Go documentation says it is designed for international users. When you hit the limit, free models can be used; a quota of 200 requests per day is stated for free models. The old access plan called “Black” no longer accepts new sign-ups.
!Go and Go Plus are for single-member workspaces and are designed “for OpenCode and similar coding agents”; traffic is monitored for abuse.
Official pricing page last checked on .
Does OpenCode work in Turkish?
| InterfaceNo | The terminal interface is in English. The documentation site is multilingual, Turkish included (opencode.ai/docs/tr), and there is a Turkish translation of the README. |
|---|---|
| Model repliesUnclear | Not stated in the official documentation. OpenCode passes a Turkish prompt to the model as is; the model you connect determines the reply language. |
Where does my code go? Data, training and retention
OpenCode says it doesn't store code or context data on its own servers. But three official statements differ: the home page says “never stores,” the home page FAQ says “free models and sharing,” and the download page FAQ says “sharing only.” The safe reading: free models and share links leave data behind.
Your code goes to the model provider you choose; retention and training rules are that provider's. On Zen/Go, retention is 0 or 30 days depending on the model; OpenAI and Anthropic API requests are kept for 30 days.
The OpenCode software doesn't use your code for training. Exception: on two “Contributor” models (Muse Spark, Gemini Argon), prompts may be used to train future models (in exchange for a discount).
Sessions are stored locally. A shared session is deleted with /unshare. In V2, opencode uninstall doesn't delete session and configuration data; delete it manually. There is no official statement about CLI telemetry, and no wording specific to KVKK (Turkey's Personal Data Protection Law).
For projects containing client data, check the provider's terms. The terms have no clear sentence granting ownership of the output; they prohibit using the output to develop competing models and hiding that the output isn't human-made.
Common problems and fixes
| What happens | What to do |
|---|---|
| V1 and V2 overwrote each other | They use the same opencode binary. Check with opencode --version; to switch to V2, run opencode upgrade --major. |
| ProviderModelNotFoundError | The model must be written as providerId/modelId (e.g. openai/gpt-4.1); see the name with opencode models. |
| ProviderInitError or AI_APICallError | Sign in again with /connect; if that fails, delete the ~/.cache/opencode cache; as a last resort, delete ~/.local/share/opencode and reconnect. |
| Desktop app opens a blank window | Disable plugins, clear the ~/.cache/opencode cache, and on Windows install the WebView2 Runtime. |
| Tool calls don't work with a local model (Ollama) | Raise Ollama's num_ctx to around 16k-32k. |
| Copy-paste doesn't work on Linux | Install xclip or xsel (X11), or wl-clipboard (Wayland). |
How do you cancel a Go subscription, and are there refunds?
Go and Zen are managed from your OpenCode Console account; the Go FAQ says you can cancel anytime. Detailed on-screen steps aren't given in the official documentation. How to delete your account isn't stated either.
If the charge was made within the last 14 days and you haven't used any of your Go allowance in that billing period, you can request a refund (per the Go FAQ). Requests go to help@anoma.ly.
Frequently asked questions
What is OpenCode and what is it for?
An open-source AI coding agent that runs in the terminal, a desktop app or an editor. It reads code, edits files and runs commands; you connect the model.
Is OpenCode free?
The software is free (MIT). The cost of the model you connect is separate. OpenCode's own plans are Zen (pay as you go), Go ($10/month) and Go Plus ($40/month).
Can I use my Claude subscription (Pro/Max) with OpenCode?
The official sources contradict each other: the home page says you can, while the providers documentation says Anthropic explicitly prohibits it. Using an Anthropic API key is the safe route.
Should I install OpenCode V1 or V2?
Both use the same opencode command and can't be installed side by side. The home page shows V2, while the documentation still describes V1. You move from V1 to V2 with opencode upgrade --major.
Two OpenCode projects show up when I search; which one is it?
The one on this page is github.com/anomalyco/opencode (formerly sst/opencode). github.com/opencode-ai/opencode is the old Go project, archived and moved to Crush.
Does OpenCode send my code to its own servers?
It says it doesn't store code on its own servers, but data may be retained with free models and share links. Your code goes to the provider you choose, and that provider's rules apply.
Can OpenCode delete my files, and do I have to approve every command?
Default permissions are permissive: in V1, file edits and shell commands run without approval. You can restrict permissions with opencode.json or press Tab to switch to the read-only plan agent. /undo reverts changes.
Can OpenCode be used with a local model (Ollama)?
Yes, a local model can be connected. For tool calls in Ollama, you need to raise num_ctx to around 16k-32k.
Does OpenCode have a desktop app, and can it be used from a phone?
There is a desktop app (macOS, Windows, Linux) and a web interface. There is no official mobile app.
How do I cancel my OpenCode Go subscription, and are there refunds?
It's managed from your Console account. If the charge was made within the last 14 days and you haven't used any of your Go allowance in that period, you can request a refund.
Does OpenCode have a history of security vulnerabilities?
Yes, three advisories (two on January 12, one on September 24, 2026), and all three have been fixed. If you expose the server, set a password and use the latest version.
Related guides
Sources
- OpenCode docs
- OpenCode V2 docs
- Providers
- Permissions
- Go plan
- Zen
- Privacy Policy
- Terms of Use
- GitHub: anomalyco/opencode
- GitHub security advisories
Not clear in the official sources: CLI telemetry · whether Zen/Go accept payments from Turkey, Turkish lira pricing and VAT (KDV) · output ownership and commercial use · minimum hardware · whether the desktop app is still beta in V2 · account deletion and cancellation screen steps · Claude Pro/Max use (two sources contradict each other). Each is covered in its section, along with what you can do.





