What is DaVinci Resolve? Free version vs Studio, AI features, download and system requirements
You install DaVinci Resolve on your computer and edit your video, correct its color, and add effects and an audio mix; all in one program and all on screen, no code needed. It is made by Blackmagic Design and has a free version for computers: every page (Cut, Edit, Fusion, Color, Fairlight) is open, but output is limited to 8-bit video, 60 fps and UHD. Most AI tools (Magic Mask, Smart Reframe, Voice Isolation, automatic subtitles) are in the paid Studio version; the free version only has Auto Color, Shot Matching, Gyroscopic Stabilization and Dialogue Leveler. Studio is listed at $295 on Blackmagic's US page with online purchase; the price differs by country.
- What it does
- Editing, color, effects and audio in one program
- Free version
- Yes; 8-bit, 60 fps, up to UHD
- Studio price
- $295 (US page) · varies by country
- Turkish interface
- Not stated in the official sources
- Where
- Windows, Mac, Linux, iPad
- No-code?
- Yes; used on screen
What is DaVinci Resolve for? Can I use it without code?
Resolve is a video editing program: you cut and join clips, correct color, add effects and titles, mix audio and export the result. Everything sits in one program as separate pages (Cut, Edit, Fusion, Color, Fairlight, Deliver; since version 21 there is also a Photo page for photos).
Yes. Resolve is a program you use on screen; you don't need to write code. The Python and Lua scripting interface is an optional extra, and since 21.1 it is Studio-only.
Who it's for: YouTube and short-form video creators, agencies, documentary makers, anyone into color grading. For quick Reels on a phone, lighter tools (such as CapCut) may be enough.
How do you download DaVinci Resolve, and what computer do you need?
- On blackmagicdesign.com, open the DaVinci Resolve page and click “Free Download Now”.
- Choose your platform: Mac, Linux, Windows x86 or Windows ARM.
- Fill in the registration form (name, email, phone, country and address are required) and submit it with Register & Download. Your details are saved to Blackmagic's database.
- Run the downloaded installer. To uninstall, use “Uninstall Resolve” on Mac, or Programs and Features on Windows.
“DaVinci Resolve for iPad” on the App Store (iPadOS 18+). The app is free; Studio tools are unlocked with an in-app purchase (in-app prices are set per country by the App Store and billed by Apple). The iPad only has the Photo, Cut, Color and Deliver pages; an M-series iPad Pro is recommended. There is no official app for iPhone or Android.
| System | Requirement (21.1.1 release notes) |
|---|---|
| Windows | Windows 10 or later; 16 GB RAM (32 GB for Fusion); at least 4 GB VRAM; CUDA 12.8 or OpenCL 1.2 |
| Mac | macOS 15 and Apple Silicon (Intel Macs are not on the official list) |
| Linux | Rocky Linux 8.6; 32 GB RAM |
The official page doesn't mention any age or identity verification. Collaboration requires a separate Blackmagic Cloud ID.
DaVinci Resolve AI features: which are free and which are in Studio?
Resolve's AI tools come under the name “DaVinci Neural Engine”, and most are in Studio. You don't pick a model; each tool works on its own.
| Feature | What it does | Which version |
|---|---|---|
| Auto Color, Shot Matching | Balances color automatically and matches clips | Free |
| Gyroscopic Stabilization, Dialogue Leveler | Fixes shake using gyro data, and evens out dialogue levels | Free |
| Magic Mask | Selects a person or object with one brush stroke and tracks it | Studio |
| Smart Reframe | Crops horizontal video to vertical automatically | Studio |
| Voice Isolation, Music Remixer | Separates speech from noise, and music from dialogue | Studio |
| Automatic subtitles and transcription | Generates subtitles from speech | Studio |
| SuperScale, Speed Warp | Upscales resolution, makes slow motion smooth | Studio |
According to Blackmagic's press release dated September 8, 2026, 21.1 supports integration with AI assistants such as Claude, Claude Code and ChatGPT Codex; the feature table lists this as “AI Assistants” in Studio, and Python scripting support moved to Studio in the same release. Setup steps are not stated in the official sources; community notes about a “bridge for the free version” contradict this.
!Some of the new tools in 21, such as IntelliSearch, IntelliScript and Voice Convert, need a powerful GPU (8 GB VRAM for Voice Convert). If a tool doesn't appear in the free version, first check whether it requires Studio.
Is DaVinci Resolve really free? Studio differences and price
Yes, the free version has every page and multi-user collaboration. Its limits are technical: 8-bit video, 60 fps and output at UHD (3840×2160) or below, and a single GPU on Windows and Linux. The program has no credits or usage quota.
- Every page, multi-user collaboration
- 8-bit, 60 fps, up to UHD
- Auto Color, Shot Matching, Dialogue Leveler
- 10-bit video
- Magic Mask, Voice Isolation, automatic subtitles
- Scripting interface
- Neural Engine AI tools
- 10-bit, 120 fps, above UHD
- Multiple GPUs, noise reduction
- Scripting interface, AI assistant integration
Blackmagic's US page lists Studio at $295 with “Buy Online”. The price differs by country; in some countries, Turkey for example, Studio is sold through “Authorized Resellers”, and the listed price includes local import duties but excludes VAT and shipping. No official page says Studio is a one-time or perpetual license; ask an authorized reseller about license details (how many machines, whether a dongle is required, refunds).
!Dolby Vision advanced trim controls need a separate Dolby license, and encrypted DCP needs a separate Easy DCP license (Studio page). A student discount is not mentioned in the official sources.
Does DaVinci Resolve support Turkish? Turkish subtitles and language patches
| Desktop menusUnclear | The official pages don't list the desktop interface languages. |
|---|---|
| iPad appNo | Available in 12 languages; Turkish is not one of them. |
| Turkish automatic subtitlesPartly | Turkish is on the extended transcription language list in the Resolve 20 guide (Studio only, requires an extra pack, some languages in beta). Not stated in the official sources for Resolve 21. |
| “Turkish patch”Unclear | There is no official Turkish language pack or patch. The safety of third-party patches is unknown; don't install from unknown sources. |
Download form and privacy, commercial use
The download form asks for your name, email, phone, country and address. Blackmagic's privacy policy (October 2, 2026) says it may collect these, device information and your IP address; the marketing database is in the US. A right to request deletion is stated. There is no statement specific to KVKK (Turkey's Personal Data Protection Law).
For any statement on whether data is used for training or sent to the cloud by the tools, check Blackmagic's privacy page.
Commercial use rights are not stated in the official sources. Before using it for client work, read the license text shown during installation and Blackmagic's EULA. This is not legal advice.
Common problems and fixes
| What happens | What to do |
|---|---|
| 10-bit 4K footage shows “Media Offline” | The free version officially works with 8-bit formats; 10-bit video is a Studio feature. Set your camera to 8-bit or move to Studio. |
| Magic Mask, Smart Reframe, Voice Isolation don't appear | On desktop these tools are Studio features; they are not in the free version. |
| The program won't open, or a GPU error | Check the official minimum: on Windows at least 4 GB VRAM, OpenCL 1.2 or CUDA 12.8; for AMD and Intel, the manufacturer's official driver. |
| The computer is slow, or it won't open on an older Intel Mac | The Mac version requires macOS 15 and Apple Silicon. On Windows, Fusion needs 32 GB RAM; on Linux, 32 GB is required. |
| The app crashes on iPad | The official page recommends an M1 or later iPad Pro with 8 GB RAM; older iPads are limited to HD. |
| Python scripts and the AI assistant connection don't work in the free version | In 21.1 scripting moved to Studio; external script access requires Studio. |
DaVinci Resolve, CapCut or Premiere?
The official sources don't compare these tools. Premiere Pro is outside the scope of this guide.
Frequently asked questions
Where and how do I download DaVinci Resolve?
From the DaVinci Resolve page on blackmagicdesign.com, click Free Download Now, choose your platform, fill in the registration form (name, email, phone, country, address) and download the installer. For iPad, get “DaVinci Resolve for iPad” on the App Store.
Is DaVinci Resolve really free, and what are the limits?
Yes, the free version has every page. The limits are technical: 8-bit video, 60 fps, output up to UHD, a single GPU on Windows and Linux; most AI tools are not included.
How much does DaVinci Resolve Studio cost?
Blackmagic's US page lists Studio at $295 with online purchase. The price differs by country, and in some countries it is sold only through authorized resellers. The official pages don't make clear whether the license is a one-time purchase.
Which DaVinci Resolve AI features are free?
Auto Color, Shot Matching, Gyroscopic Stabilization and Dialogue Leveler. Magic Mask, Smart Reframe, Voice Isolation, automatic subtitles, SuperScale and Speed Warp are in Studio.
DaVinci Resolve, Premiere Pro or CapCut?
The official sources don't compare them. Resolve brings editing, color and audio into one program; CapCut is aimed at short videos on a phone. Try the same short video in both programs.
Is DaVinci Resolve available on iPad, Mac, Linux and phones?
There is a desktop version for Windows, Mac (macOS 15 + Apple Silicon) and Linux, and a separate app for iPad. There is no official app for iPhone or Android.
What is DaVinci Resolve and how do you use it?
A video editor that handles editing, color, effects and audio mixing in one program. You cut and join clips on the Cut or Edit page, correct color on the Color page and export from the Deliver page. No code needed.
DaVinci Resolve system requirements: how much RAM, which graphics card?
Windows 10+ with at least 16 GB RAM (32 GB for Fusion) and a graphics card with at least 4 GB VRAM (CUDA 12.8 or OpenCL 1.2). For Mac, macOS 15 and Apple Silicon. For Linux, Rocky Linux 8.6 and 32 GB RAM.
Does DaVinci Resolve support Turkish, and are there Turkish subtitles?
The official pages don't state the desktop menu languages; the iPad app has no Turkish. In the Resolve 20 guide, Turkish is on the extended transcription list in Studio. There is no official Turkish patch.
DaVinci Resolve won't open or shows media offline or a GPU error. What should I do?
With 10-bit footage the free version shows Media Offline: switch to 8-bit or get Studio. For a GPU error, check for at least 4 GB VRAM and the official driver.
Related guides
Sources
- DaVinci Resolve product page
- DaVinci Resolve Studio
- 21.1.1 release notes and system requirements
- Studio 21 features (PDF)
- Resolve 20 New Features Guide (PDF)
- AI assistant integration announcement (September 8, 2026)
- Blackmagic privacy policy
- App Store: DaVinci Resolve for iPad
Not clear in the official sources: Whether Studio is a one-time/perpetual license and the activation details (dongle, how many machines, refunds) · commercial use terms (EULA) · desktop interface languages · setup steps for the Claude integration · Turkish transcription in Resolve 21 · student discount. Each is covered in the relevant section along with what you can do.




