Skip to content

What Is Shotbase? Mac Screenshot and Screen Recording App: Pricing, Trial, AI and Privacy

With Shotbase you capture screenshots, screen recordings or an entire web page on your Mac and create share links. The 7-day trial unlocks every feature and needs no card; after that you need Pro. Once the trial ends, Pro is required to export new work, create share links and keep existing links live. The optional on-device AI runs only on Apple silicon; web page capture and sharing run in the cloud.

What it does
Captures screenshots, screen recordings and web pages on a Mac
Trial
7 days, no card
Platforms
Mac only (macOS 14+)
AI
On-device, Apple silicon only
Price
Pro $156/year · $25/month

What does Shotbase do? How do you install it?

Shotbase takes screenshots, records the screen and captures entire web pages on a Mac; you edit the captures and export them or send them with a share link. It installs from a .dmg (about 161 MB); the download page points to the official GitHub releases repository. The current version is 1.6.0 (October 11, 2026); according to the GitHub note, build 16 was pulled.

macOSYesMinimum version macOS 14.0 (from the update file). Whether it opens on Intel Macs is not stated.
Mac App StoreNoNot listed in the store (no result in a search of the Turkish store); download only from the website.
Windows, iPhone, AndroidNoMac only.

Who it's for: content creators and teams who take frequent screenshots and short recordings on a Mac and share them.

Is Shotbase free? Pricing and trial

Trial$0 7 days, no card
  • All features
  • Exporting new work after the trial
Pro$156 /year (or $25/month)
  • Export
  • Share links (new and existing)

After the trial ends, Pro is required to export new or newly edited work, create share links and keep existing links live. Under the terms, the yearly plan has a 30-day and the monthly plan a 7-day full refund. Prices are in US dollars; Turkish lira pricing, tax notes and a student discount are not in the official documentation.

Does Shotbase send my captures to the cloud?

On-device AI

Optional; it generates names, tags and summaries for captures, does not send image content to a remote model and runs only on Macs with Apple silicon.

Web page capture and sharing

Runs in the cloud: the address to capture is sent to ScreenshotOne (privacy page). Saying “nothing goes to the cloud” would be wrong.

Other

Sign-in providers, local model names, web capture and AI availability after the trial, and a Turkish interface are not stated in the official documentation.

Shotbase refunds and Turkish support

Under the terms, the yearly plan has a full refund within 30 days and the monthly plan within 7 days. The in-app path for canceling a subscription and the account deletion steps are not clear in the official documentation. The official documentation says nothing about a Turkish interface or Turkish replies; there is no Turkish lira price or tax note either.

Frequently asked questions

What is Shotbase and what is it used for?

A Mac app for screenshots, screen recording and web page capture; you edit and share the captures.

Is Shotbase free?

There is a 7-day trial with all features and no card required. After that you need Pro: $156 a year or $25 a month.

Which systems does Shotbase run on?

Mac only; minimum macOS 14.0. There is no Windows or mobile version.

Does Shotbase AI send my data to the cloud?

The on-device AI does not send the image to a remote model and runs only on Apple silicon. For web page capture, the address goes to ScreenshotOne.

Does Shotbase offer refunds?

Under the terms, a full refund within 30 days on the yearly plan and 7 days on the monthly plan.

Related guides

Sources

Not clear in the official sources: Turkish lira pricing and tax · Turkish interface · student discount · whether the app opens on Intel Macs · web capture and local AI availability after the trial · local model names · sign-in providers. Each is covered in the relevant section along with what you can do.