What Is WrenAI? Chat With Your Database, the Three Wren Products, License, Cloud Pricing, MCP and Data Privacy
You ask your database a question in plain language; WrenAI turns it into SQL and gives you the answer. "Wren AI" covers three separate products: the open-source engine and CLI (no interface; used with agents such as Claude Code and Cursor), the commercial Wren AI Cloud / Enterprise Plus (web interface, Slack, Teams), and the old Docker app Wren GenBI Classic, retired on May 7, 2026. The main branch is licensed Apache-2.0 (AGPL applies only to the legacy/v1 branch). Cloud has no free plan, and the 7-day trial requires a card.
- What it does
- Answers plain-language questions about your database with SQL and results
- Open source
- Apache-2.0 engine + CLI (no interface)
- Cloud
- Essential $179/month (yearly) · $259 (monthly)
- Turkish
- Not stated in official sources
- Free plan
- None; 7-day trial, card required
What Does WrenAI Do? Which Wren AI?
You connect your database to WrenAI and ask in plain language, “which 5 products sold best last month?”; it generates SQL, runs it and gives you the answer. For accurate results it relies on a semantic model of your data (table relationships, business definitions).
No interface; used from inside agents such as Claude Code and Cursor. It has no model of its own. It can also run as an MCP server with wren serve mcp (the documentation contradicts itself on this).
Web interface, Slack and Teams, team management. Commercial.
The old Docker app with an interface; retired on May 7, 2026, it gets no new features or security fixes. Searches for “wren ai docker” are most likely looking for this; don't choose it for a new installation.
Who it's for: analysts and teams who want to talk to their data without writing queries; the number of supported data sources differs between sources (README 22+, website 20+, connection docs 13 connectors).
How Do You Install and Use WrenAI?
The current open-source product is a CLI and engine: you install it with the wrenai package on PyPI (0.15.0, Apache-2.0) and connect it to a coding agent (the README counts 50+ agents, the open-source page 60+). You define database connections and the semantic model (MDL), and the agent writes queries through Wren. Detailed setup steps are on docs.getwren.ai; old Docker guides are for Classic and don't apply to the current product.
!If you come across old Docker/Ollama guides during setup, assume you're looking at Wren GenBI Classic; use the current documentation for a new installation.
Is WrenAI Free? Cloud Plans and Pricing
- Apache-2.0
- On your own server, with an agent
- Web interface
- 13,200 credits per year
- 7-day trial, card required
- Free plan
- 24,000 credits per year
Self-hosted Enterprise Plus is annual-contract only; pricing is negotiated with sales and licensed by number of concurrent sessions. Prices are in US dollars; local-currency and tax details are not stated. No student discount is listed.
WrenAI License: Where Does Your Data Go?
The repository is multi-licensed: the main branch, core, sdk and skills are Apache-2.0; docs are CC BY 4.0; AGPL-3.0 applies only to the legacy/v1 branch. That's why GitHub shows the license as “NOASSERTION”; calling it “AGPL” would be wrong.
With the open-source engine, SQL, results and metadata go to the agent, meaning the agent's model provider. In Cloud, results are processed in Wren Cloud, and OpenAI and Anthropic are listed among the subprocessors. The “nothing leaves your network” claim applies only to self-hosted.
A GenBI dashboard can by default be published, along with its data, to a public static server; check the publishing settings. The Ollama/LiteLLM custom model guide on docs.getwren.ai is for the old Classic and doesn't apply to the current product.
A Turkish interface, Turkish replies or voice are not mentioned on the official pages. For Cloud, age, phone, cancellation and account deletion flows, and any restriction for Turkey, are not stated in official sources.
Frequently asked questions
What is WrenAI and what does it do?
A GenBI tool where you ask your database in plain language and get SQL and answers; it comes as three separate products: the open-source engine, the commercial Cloud and the old Classic.
Is WrenAI free?
The open-source engine is Apache-2.0 and free but has no interface. Cloud has no free plan; the 7-day trial requires a card.
How much does WrenAI cost?
Cloud Essential is $179 a month billed yearly ($259 monthly), Enterprise $559 ($799). Prices are in US dollars.
Is WrenAI AGPL?
No; the main branch is Apache-2.0. AGPL-3.0 applies only to the legacy/v1 branch.
Does WrenAI send my data to an LLM?
In the open-source version, SQL, results and metadata go to the agent's model provider; in Cloud, results are processed in Wren Cloud. The “nothing leaves” claim is written for self-hosted only.
Can you still install the Wren AI Docker app?
Wren GenBI Classic was retired on May 7, 2026; it gets no new features or security fixes.
Related guides
Sources
Not clear in the official sources: Turkish interface, replies and voice · local-currency pricing and tax · age, phone, cancellation and account deletion in Cloud · student discount · exact content of the data sent to the agent in the open-source version · restrictions for Turkey in Cloud · whether MCP is in the open-source version. Each is covered in the relevant section, along with what you can do.





